[3] Amatuer nouns.

Posted: April 16, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Pronouns are a bastard.

I’m putting it out there. They’re tricky little fuckers, and I like to think of myself as being reasonably enlightened. I have a loose and adaptable definition of gendery goodness that covers a pretty broad sweep of identities*, but one awkward pronoun is all it takes and wham, I’m flat on my back wondering what the hell I just fell over.

Y’know, figuratively.

I think the problem is habit. We have two sets of gendered pronouns from day one — assuming you’re like me and were raised on the Western, English-speaking side of the globe — and that’s all you’ve got to work with. He and she. Him and her. Oh sure, you have it and they and a couple other good ones (thine), but I’ve yet to meet a person who likes being called ‘it’. (Or ‘thine’, for that matter.)

Irregardless, you’ve got two blocks of language to work with, and you grow up applying them to specific people. Like my friend Nezu, who I’ve known for five years and is just starting to stretch out into a new transmasculine identity, complete with male pronouns. Which is awesome and joy-making and gives me a brother in arms: all very cool things. But I keep tripping over pronouns. I’ll mention Nezu to my friends, and I’ll say ‘she’. Actually, I’ll say “sh– h– Nezu– dammit“, and generally end up using a mixed bag of she’s and he’s until I lose track of what I was actually trying to say.

The problem isn’t my friend, and it isn’t that I’m being insulting or neglectful or stupid, it’s habit. It’s the name. Nezu equals she. Not the actual Nezu-in-person, but the name ‘Nezu’ has a little ticky box next to it in my brain marked ‘she’. Nezu-she. It’s like a little schema of misidentification tied around my tongue, waiting to trip me up.

And it’s happening with me, too. I’ve gotten an almost overwhelmingly positive approach to coming out so far, minus one or two blips. Neither one of my parents knows, and I want to keep it that way for a while. (Mom has Religion — and also, y’know, schizophrenia — and Dad is helping me stay financially stable, so I’m not planning on throwing a wrench into either set of spokes just yet.) But most of my friends know, my brother knows, and I don’t currently have a workplace to speak of, so that’s not an issue. I’ve gotten “That’s awesome!” as a reaction, and “Hey, cool, whatever makes you happy,” and “Dude, I’ll support you in whatever you want to do,” and “So does this mean you’re straight now?”, which I’m endlessly grateful for.

Pronoun-switching has not been quite so successful. Even my very trans-aware friends are having trouble, pretty much for exactly the same reason: habit. And I haven’t picked a new real-world-name yet to replace my very female one, so that also isn’t helping. Internet buddies call me DK, Deek, or Dark, which I enjoy, but it’s always going to feel a little like make-believe. Real world pals don’t have much choice yet except for what they know.

A lot of them are making a good effort, though. I get more she’s than he’s, but at least I’m getting some he’s. And a pleased little zing of glee every time it happens. My brother’s girlfriend, R, tries really hard and I love her for it. My brother… less so. And I need to talk to him about it, because it’s starting to get hurtful. He uses ‘she’ as standard, introduces me as his sister, and cracks jokes that’re starting to make me twitchy.

I know it’s harder for family, because it’s not just ‘she’ he’s having to lose. It’s the older sister he’s known me as for his entire life. And what I’m stretching into isn’t a completely new thing, because in many ways it’s always been me, but it’s different. It’s weird and sudden and, yeah, there have been a lot of warning signs, but family are pretty much required by law to miss out on those.

I spent a good chunk of today hanging out with the brother and R today, grabbing breakfast at an outdoor cafe, booking house-viewings for the flat they want to get together, watching Hancock and eating donuts and listening to Dylan Moran rant about pretty much everything ever from my slightly uncomfortable couches. R tripped on a pronoun when they were packing up to leave. Called me she instead of he, then laughed and apologized because she’s a sweetheart. And we joked that yeah, it’s not easy, but I don’t mind people taking their time.

Then the brother said, “Well, don’t look at me, because I’m not doing it.”

Wham. Flat on my back.

I took a breath, smiled tightly, said something about how he’d get there in the end, and didn’t hug him before he left. We always hug; we’re friendly, affectionate little weirdos. But not this time, because that stung like hell and I’m pretty sure he didn’t even realize.

I kinda hope that R gave him a good hard kick on the way home.

Pronouns. They are a bastard.


*I’m not going to say ‘covers all identities’, because someone’ll come along in a nanosecond and prove me wrong.

Comments
  1. Ki says:

    Just for what it’s worth…the other day in 14th Amendment we were discussing gay rights, and the subject of transgender people and gender-neutral bathrooms came up. A couple of people were kind of confused, so I quoted some of what I’d heard from you on the issue. And I managed to use male pronouns the whole time. 😉

    (Does this mean you’re straight? Because I’ve heard some other trans people say that they don’t identify as straight, even though they’re now attracted to the opposite gender; ‘queer’ seems to be a good catch-all. Wondered what your thoughts were on the labeling issue.)

    Also, given that I’ve been brainstorming male names for my sister’s next child all month, if you ever need a list I’ve got a bunch. 🙂

  2. DK says:

    I love you. ❤ And I'm curious to hear what your classmates thought about the issue. Did you make any headway? 😀

    (Queer is what I'm sticking with. I have a whole upcoming post about sexuality, because it's a fairly tangled issue. But the more I'm getting comfortable with thinking of myself as male, the more my internal 'hey, sailor' meter is ticking back over to liking men just as much as women, as well as some variations in-between. Apparently that's pretty common, so I'm not too panicked about it. I think provided it's some version of socially unacceptable, my brain’s okay with it. *amused*)

    I would love to hear your names! Email me?

  3. Ki says:

    There was a bit of discussion of how awkward it would be if bathrooms were totally gender-neutral, but my professor pointed out that in many areas in Europe all the stalls are like separate little rooms, and the only common area is the handwashing station. There seemed to be general agreement that that would be much less awkward. But I do think that gender-segregated bathrooms serve an important social function: women need a safe place to do hair and makeup and talk about guys, without worrying about those guys stumbling in on them. Possibly guys need the same, and making all bathrooms gender-neutral would be causing as many problems as it cures. I’d be interested on your thoughts, here.

    Out of my class of 30-something BYU Law students, all but one of whom are Mormon, the vast majority of those who spoke up that day were expressing their frustration and heartsickness over Proposition 8, and how they felt caught between two very compelling sets of beliefs. I don’t know the answer to that, either.

    (Your brain is such a Rebel. *amused*)

  4. Pronouns are difficult, no question. And there’s something awkward about coming straight out and asking “what pronouns do you prefer?” It feels somehow intrusive, but I think I’d rather be tagged as a bit intrusive than continue using pronouns that are incorrect.

    I’m interested in hearing your sexuality thoughts. It’s something my partner and I discuss often– a man in a relationship with a woman is considered straight, right? So if you’ve transitioned to male, and are in a relationship with a woman, does that make you a straight couple? Or a queer couple?

    Again, it is one of those areas that can feel a bit touchy and feels a bit intrusive, but I’d always rather ask questions and have discussions than walk around ignorant out of fear of stepping in it.

  5. Kyle says:

    yes, pronouns are a bastard and habits are hard to break. I get myself fouled up in them much more than I’d like to admit. And when people ask which pronouns I prefer, it depends on the situation, and who I am at the moment. Which comes across as inconsistent and confusing, I’m sure… and well, it is for me too.

    I choose queer as my sexual identity because no matter what I do and who I’m attracted to I’m not straight. Whether it’s my male side with a female partner, or my female side with a male partner, I’m 100% queer. I agree with Victoria that asking for preferred pronouns or inquiring about sexual identity are awkward, and sometimes it’s not appropriate but if you are going to spend time with someone it’s worth the effort.

  6. Val. says:

    One of my childhood friends transitioned a couple of years ago. Just asked straight on which pronounce I chould use. The first couple of months went like “she… HE…damnit” closely followed by a couple of weeks of “he…she…HE…argh”. He thought it was funny, and I was getting frustrated, was afraid to hurt his feelings.

Leave a comment